Search within this web site:

you are here ::

History, New Political Status

Danish monarchy, Greenlanders, popular referendum, narrow margin, national parliament

Under the new Danish constitution of May 1953, the country became an integral part of the Danish monarchy and obtained representation in the national parliament. Greenland and Denmark both joined the European Community in 1972.

Following a popular referendum in January 1979, Greenland attained home rule. Elections in April of that year for a new parliament were won by the left-wing Siumut Party. In a referendum held in February 1982, the Greenlanders voted by a narrow margin to withdraw from the European Community (now called the European Union); the withdrawal was completed by early 1985. In the June 1984 elections, the Siumut (Forward) Party and a moderate opposition group, the Atassut (Community) Party, each won 11 seats in parliament; the Inuit Ataqatigiit (IA), or Inuit Brotherhood, won 3 seats. Results of the May 1987 elections were similarly divided. In March 1991 the balance shifted as Atassut lost three seats and the IA gained two. In elections held in March 1995 Siumut won 12 seats and formed a coalition government with Atassut, which won 10 seats; the IA secured 6 seats.

Article key phrases:

Danish monarchy, Greenlanders, popular referendum, narrow margin, national parliament, new parliament, coalition government, home rule, European Community, Greenland, withdrawal, Elections, European Union, balance, seats, representation, Denmark, Results, country, year


Search within this web site: