Search within this web site:

you are here ::

Czech Republic, Government

independent countries, parliamentary democracy, Slovaks, interwar period, republics

Mass demonstrations held in a number of cities in late 1989 brought about the end of Communist rule in Czechoslovakia. A non-Communist government took office, and the country’s new leaders began to recreate democratic political institutions and revive democratic traditions from the interwar period. Free multiparty elections were held in Czechoslovakia in June 1990.

In the early 1990s economic disagreements between Czechs and Slovaks, combined with conflicting views about the proper role of the federal and republican governments, prevented the adoption of a new constitution. Federal and local elections held in June 1992 brought a center-right government to power in the Czech Republic, while a leftist government won control in Slovakia. Later that year, the leaders of the two republics decided to split the federation into two independent countries. A new constitution of the Czech Republic, adopted in December 1992, went into effect with independence in January 1993. The Czech Republic is a parliamentary democracy.

deeper links ::

Article key phrases:

independent countries, parliamentary democracy, Slovaks, interwar period, republics, Czechs, local elections, new constitution, Czechoslovakia, independence, adoption, federation, effect, Slovakia, Czech Republic, leaders, number of cities, power, office, control, year


Search within this web site: